Belief Activates Truth

sword-of-the-spirit1Hebrews tell us that the Word of God is alive and active, the sharpest Sword, penetrating, dividing, judging the hidden things (Hebrews 4:12). We know that this is true. His Word is continually accomplishing all it sets out to do (Is. 55:11).

“Yes. I believe that,” you may think, “but sometimes I feel blocked from experiencing it… like it’s off in another dimension and I’m just down here trying to make it on my own. Help! Is there something blocking me from accessing it??”

There is. In fact, a very dark force blocks us from activation of God’s Word in our daily lives.

That dark force is called unbelief.

Unbelief is the mother of all sins. Pride, fear and every other sin stem from this one. Unbelief is the root reason why, and how, Adam and Eve fell into sin. They failed to believe God.

How does the LORD feel about unbelief? In short, He despises it:

In short, He despises it:

  • He refused to do miracles in Nazareth because of unbelief (Matt.13:58).
  • He declared that He came to divide those who believe from those who don’t (Matt.10:34).
  • He commands seekers to force aside unbelief to enter through the narrow gate (Lk 13:24).
  • He refuses entry into the Promised Land for those who won’t trust Him (Heb. 3:19).
  • He healed two blind men because of their deep trust in Him (Matt. 9:28-29).
  • Psalm 27:13 says we bring despair upon ourselves by refusing to believe.

In my marriage relationship, I endured a lengthy season of unbelief and consequential recurring despair (Ps. 27:13). During this time while seeking Him, the LORD led me to the hidden truth I held inside: that I did not believe He intended to heal and restore our relationship.

With all this to consider…

  • How do we activate God’s truth for ourselves? 
  • How do we make it real? 
  • How do we make it come alive for us in everyday life?

There’s only one way to activate God’s truth and make it come alive for us:

BELIEVE IT!

When we talk about belief, we’re not referring to “intellectual assent.” In the Bible, belief means “to adhere to, to trust in, to rely on, and to have faith in; a deep abiding trust in.”

“The words [rhema] that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life” (John 6:63).

  • Believing the Word of God automatically activates it in our lives!
  • Believing His Word brings it from the other dimension into our own!
  • Believing His truth “turns it on” inside of us, like a light bulb!
  • Believing God puts us right in step with Him!
prayer

rwf2000.com

So, our conundrum between belief and unbelief begs the following prayers:

  1. LORD, Where am I walking in unbelief? 

Once He shows us, we say THANK YOU and humbly pray:

      2. LORD, Please help me overcome my unbelief (Mk 9:24) and increase my faith (Luke 17:5).

In my case, realizing my deeply held unbelief became a turning point for me to simply deal with it head on. The process involved allowing the Holy Spirit to expose the underlying beliefs and reasons (lies) that supported that unbelief. After riding what felt like an emotional roller coaster in exposing the lies that supported the unbelief, I finally agreed with the LORD.

I overcame unbelief by asking the Holy Spirit to expose my unbelief. Then I cast the unbelief behind me asking for the faith I needed to believe for healing and restoration. In spite of any lingering struggles, I believe Him now and witness daily His redemptive work in our relationship. Believing He would heal is what activated the healing and made it come alive.

BelieveThe more we “force aside unbelief” (Luke 13:24) to follow Him truly believing His Word, the more our faith increases and the more His powerful truth activates inside of us automatically! 

 

Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

John 6:28-29 Then they asked Him, “What are we to do, so that we may habitually be doing the works of God?”29 Jesus answered, “This is the work of God: that you believe [adhere to, trust in, rely on, and have faith] in the One whom He has sent.”

Matthew 10:34 “Do not think that I have come to bring peace on the earth; I have not come to bring peace, but a sword [of division between belief and unbelief].

Luke 13:24 “Strive to enter through the narrow door [force aside unbelief and the attractions of sin]; for many, I tell you, will try to enter [by their own works] and will not be able.

Matthew 13:58 And He did not do many miracles there [in Nazareth] because of their unbelief.

Psalm 27:13 I would have despaired had I not believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord In the land of the living.

Matthew 9:28-29 When He went into the house, the blind men came up to Him, and Jesus said to them, “Do you believe [with a deep, abiding trust] that I am able to do this?” They said to Him, “Yes, Lord.” 29 Then He touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith [your trust and confidence in My power and My ability to heal] it will be done to you.”

Hebrews 3:19 So we see that they were not able to enter [into His rest—the promised land] because of unbelief and an unwillingness to trust in God.

John 20:23 If you forgive the sins of anyone they are forgiven [because of their faith]; if you retain the sins of anyone, they are retained [and remain unforgiven because of their unbelief].”

John 5:24  “I assure you and most solemnly say to you, the person who hears My word [the one who heeds My message], and believes and trusts in Him who sent Me, has (possesses now) eternal life [that is, eternal life actually begins—the believer is transformed], and does not come into judgment and condemnation, but has passed [over] from death into life. 

Isaiah 55:11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Mark 9:24 Immediately the father of the boy cried out [with a desperate, piercing cry], saying, “I do believe; help [me overcome] my unbelief.”

Luke 17:5 The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!”

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

