The Power of Thought

Proverbs 23:7 says, As a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”

Our thoughts are important. They define us. They direct us.

~As a child when I had blood drawn, I required lying down so that I wouldn’t faint.

“I need that blood. They are taking important blood that my body needs,” my little mind figured. “I will be weak without it until my body makes more.”

Little did I know that I fainted then simply because of my thoughts, not because of the blood loss. I fainted because I thought “fainting” thoughts.

As an adult, I no longer faint when having blood drawn because my thoughts have changed. I know that my body makes plenty of blood and can spare as many vials as the lab may need.

“They’re taking extra blood that my body doesn’t need,” I tell myself. Now, while having blood drawn, I think non-fainting thoughts so I don’t faint.

My focus and thoughts guide my actions. I think the way I want to go.

~My husband, Thom, races dirt bikes (motorcycles) in the woods for fun. He knows that his focus determines his direction. He knows that if he mistakenly focuses on the trees lining the trail, he will crash into one of them. Instead, he chooses to focus only on the trail ahead of him so that he will stay safely on it.

His focus and thoughts guide his actions. He thinks the way he wants to go.

We, as Christians, must focus on and think true thoughts. When we call ourselves sinners, we are not agreeing with God about who we are or what He has done for us. This is not only rude, it is ignorant, disgraceful and blasphemous to Him. Christ did not die to leave us sinners! He died so that we could be like Him in the new nature He has given us (2 Cor. 5:17).

When we decide to agree with God and call ourselves the new nature as He does, then we slowly begin to act like the new nature. Over time, the repetition of telling ourselves the truth will act as the tiny rudder that turns the whole ship around. During the process of learning who He has made us, we give ourselves grace, truth and time as first our identity, then our character gradually transforms.

So, what does this look like in real life? In my case, self talk sounds like this, “If I am the new nature which I am because God says so-  then what would the new nature do in this particular circumstance? She would walk in agreement with God because she is one spirit with Him.” Then I find out what His word reveals about the reality of the situation and my appointed path in it.

If the situation seems foreign or awkward to me, I prayerfully imagine myself repeatedly walking on the appointed path according to His Word to lay down the pathways in my brain for me to actually walk in it. Then I ask God for wisdom, courage, strength and peace to follow through on it.

If I struggle to follow the Lord, I ask Him to show me the blockage. If necessary, I get help from a friend, relative, therapist or whoever can help me break through.

And sometimes in my weakness I just pray, “Lord, I cannot do this! But I fully surrender to you and trust you, and ask that you lead me and do it through me.”

He always honors my weakness!

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. (2 Cor. 12:9).

The old nature faints. The new nature stays conscious.

The old nature crashes into trees. The new nature rides on the open path.

The old nature feeds on lies. The new nature feeds on truth.

Focus on Christ and the new nature He has made you.

Every Scripture points you to the Glorious Christ, and your glorious new nature in Him (John 5:39)!

Our thoughts are important. They define us. They direct us.

Think the way you want to go.

 

Proverbs 23:7  As a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”

John 5:39 You search the Scriptures because you think they give you eternal life. But the Scriptures point to me!

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

2 Corinthians 12:19 My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

 

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

