The Gift of Desperation

The gift –of what??

Who in their right mind would classify desperation as -a gift?

I would.

Because every place of desperation within me that I have surrendered to the Lord, He has led me to healing and relief.

In fact, each of those places over the years that I surrendered to Him already belonged to Him simply because He had purchased the entirety of my soul with His blood.

When He placed His finger on an area, I chose to voluntarily release it to Him. Some I released instantly. Others took time.

Think for a moment…

Where in your life might you be burning out on your own resources?

Where might you be avoiding surrender? Why is that?

Are you forgetting the Shepherd in your troubles?

For a desperate sheep, He will make Himself known:

~When I was fearful of public speaking, He challenged me to attend ToastMasters. Reluctantly, I did, but afterwards was so relieved.

~When I struggled with relinquishing sugar, He showed me that the root was parental abandonment. Grieving and eating good fats healed me.

~When I struggled wanting a closer relationship with my husband, He showed me that the root was parental rejection. Again, grieving (and boundaries) healed me.

~When I was ready to leave my husband, with a gifted therapist He gave me strength and courage to make hard decisions and stand my ground.

~When I seemed to have a personality conflict with one of my children, He showed me her temperament type and led me to understand her.

~When I struggled with hypersomnia, anxiety and confusion, He showed me that I had PTSD and needed medication. A quick fix.

~When I found myself regularly feeling ill around a family member, He taught me to use strong, tough boundaries and to speak truth in love. Because my voice mattered.

~When I had become emotionally attached to another man while my husband had been cold toward me for years and wouldn’t listen to my issue, the Lord sent a psychic to our table at a Chinese restaurant to deliver the message to him. Really.

~When the fires of affliction in my life blazed longer and hotter than I could bear, the Shepherd poured out His grace in long-suffering to me as I hid in the cleft of the Rock.

~When I cried out to God for help because I was too exhausted (due to health issues unknown to me at the time) to finish errands including purchasing two bags of ice for our cookout that night, the Lord sent the ice delivery man to me at the check out counter.

~When I grew furious with the Lord and blew up at Him, He comforted me in my distress.

~When I felt sour around loud, bossy personalities, He reminded me how I was bullied seven separate times during my childhood starting at age five.

~When I twice faced inevitable confrontation with narcissistic personalities, He strengthened me with courage and wisdom to succeed and make necessary changes.

~When He frequently answers my call to rescue me, He knows it stems from never being heard, helped or rescued when I was bullied all those years.

~When no one understands me, He does.

~When I get sick of living in this world, He reassures me of His purposes for me.

 

In all of these places, and so many more, He showed me the way OUT of the pain, the distress, the misery, the confusion, the panic, the overwhelm.

He IS the Way Out!

When sheep choose to focus on the Shepherd and follow His promptings, eventually they come to find protection, provision, peace, order, rest, refreshment, and righteousness through and through (Ps. 23).

 

Pull yourself away from that distraction.

Follow Him. Stay on His heels no matter where He leads.

When you do, surprisingly, He inevitably transforms your desperation into a gift!

In your humility and persistence, He will lead you to the relief you desperately need.

Jeremiah 6:16

Jeremiah 6:16

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Psalm 23
The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
3 He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 107:19
Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress.

Matthew 11:28
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Isaiah 30:15 For thus said the Lord GOD, the Holy One of Israel, “In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.”

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

