Me Phobia

In our culture today, I see me phobia.

What is me phobia? Fear of saying the word, me.

My question is, why is everyone so afraid to say me?

Believe it or not, me is perfectly harmless.

It’s a creepy trend, me phobia, and growing, like political correctness. Even many news reporters and documentarians are afraid to say me. Wow. Is that the Twilight Zone opening theme music I hear echoing in the back my mind??

In all seriousness, is it now politically correct to fear me? It must be since most politically correct trends are fundamentally incorrect just like houses built on sand. In sync with some other wayward cultural fads, this one has gotten totally out of hand.

In response to the social awkwardness, it’s time to return to the fundamentals and review some basic grammar…

How do we know whether to use I or me? We can clarify the choice in a sentence with two objects of a preposition by removing the other object in the sentence.

Take the sentence, “Are you going with Mary and I/me?”

We can remove Mary (the other object) and test to see whether  I or me sounds correct in the sentence:

1) “Are you going with… I?” Incorrect. (It even sounds incorrect.)

2) “Are you going with… me?” Correct! (It sounds correct.)

Rule to remember: If the sentence is correct without the other object, then it is correct with it. When we return the other object (Mary) to our corrected sentence, we ask, “Are you going with Mary and me?” Yes! This is correct!

Likewise, the same application works when questioning whether Mary should be replaced with she or her in the sentence. Remove the other object, “me,” from the sentence and test it:

1) “Are you going with …she?” Incorrect. (It sounds wrong.)

2) “Are you going with …her?” Correct! ( It sounds correct.)

 

For anyone out there who hesitates to use me, I have an exercise to help lead you back to sanity.

Say this sentence out loud: “Are you going with Mary and me? ” (Good! Say it again. And again until it feels comfortable.)

Say this out loud: “ME ME ME ME ME ME…. It is correct to use the word ME as the object of a preposition.” (Good job!)

Say this out loud: “I am using my brain, speaking proper English and thinking for myself when I use me correctly.” (Yes, you are!)

Homework: Study the above correct examples and repeat once a day for three weeks.

To any brave soul out there who dares to speak proper English in a culture gone completely insane, I officially give you permission to say me.  Amen.

Matthew 7:20-27

20 Therefore by their fruits you will know them.
21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’
24 “Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock: 25 and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it did not fall, for it was founded on the rock. 26 “But everyone who hears these sayings of Mine, and does not do them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand: 27 and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it fell. And great was its fall.”

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

