We Feel What We Believe

We all desire appropriation of God’s truth and His Spirit.

Of course, we do.

But what blocks us from this process?

Well, in one word…lies. Lies block us from appropriating.

Lies are everywhere. We are born into a world full of lies. We marinate in lies. People tell us lies all our lives. We tell ourselves lies all our lives. In fact, lies form the foundation of our souls from early on, even if we are raised in a Christian home.

Lies are carefully implanted in our souls when we are children. For instance, when I was a youngster, interactions between my dad and me formed two core beliefs in my soul:

1) that I was completely unlovable and

2) that men were scary and untrustworthy.

Much healing has taken place in my soul since then. Today I know firmly that I am very lovable and that many men can be trusted, even my dad.

But how did my beliefs about myself grow from unlovable and untrusting to lovable and trusting?

By extraction. Just like a diseased tooth is removed and replaced with an implant, lies can be removed from the soul and replaced with truth.

But how? It’s a little tricky. Lie extraction and replacement with truth is accomplished strictly at an emotional level, not a cognitive one.

Why is that? Because we feel whatever we believe. Read that sentence again.

The feeling you have about anything stems from a belief. Say you want to trust God in some area, yet you experience blockage. If you dare to explore the feeling that triggers the blockage, you can drill down and find the lie blocking the trust that you desire.

The LORD had revealed and removed the childhood source of the remnant fear and shame I had experienced in my personal relationship with Him. That had stemmed from my interactions with my dad. But little did I know the issue was still affecting me in other areas.

The lie that I could not trust men remained as a hidden barrier in my marriage relationship for years, notwithstanding my husband’s issues. I asked the LORD to show me my blockage. He did, in a memory of my dad and me during some troubled years around age six.

My dad’s rejection of me I had internalized against myself, and externalized toward God, and all men. Traumatic and foundational. There it was.

Ouch! But what was I to do with it? I wondered.

Again, He answered me.

The LORD gently woke me up repeatedly in the middle of the night (Ps. 17:3a) during that season explaining with compassion, “Your emotions need a voice.” His awakenings accompanied specific memories of me and my dad that I definitely did not want to remember. They held deep sorrow, grief, anger and even rage.

But God gave me the grace to trust, and press in. He showed me that He was right there with me during those years. That my dad had a temper then, while I had ADHD. An unfortunate combination.

As the emotions poured out of me those nights, new space cleared in my soul. New space for God’s truth and perspective there. And new space for new emotions.

The truth was that because I had always belonged to Him (1 Pet. 1:20, Eph. 1:11), I had always been lovable. Those years did not define me or my relationship with any man. God’s truth changed my emotions in the memory.

The old drama is now cast in new light. The light of Christ. Now in His light, I feel understanding and compassion for my dad, and for myself during that time. I feel those new emotions because my beliefs have changed about our interactions at that time.

After Christ illuminated the memory, my core beliefs changed and my feelings followed. I can now appropriate truth about men, and myself, since the lies are gone. I feel what I believe.

Next time your button is pushed, dig deep and follow the feeling back to the lie. God can show you His truth there. Appropriation is just around the corner.

You feel what you believe.

Psalm 51:6 Behold, You desire truth in the inward parts, And in the hidden part You will make me to know wisdom.

Psalm 139:1 You have searched me, LORD, and you know me…

Proverbs 23:7 As a man thinks so is he

Matthew 11:28 Come to Me all who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Psalm 17:3a You have tried my heart; You have visited me in the night;

1 Peter 1:20 He was chosen before the foundation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for your sakes.

Revelation 13:8 All inhabitants of the world will worship the beast-all whose names have not been written in the Lamb’s Book of Life, the Lamb who was slain from the foundation of the world.

Ephesians 1:11 In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will,

Romans 8:29-30 For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

~Read more about my adventures with the Lord in My Journey Through the Cross (Amazon, B&N, my website).

~Read more about this healing process at http://www.theophostic.com.

Ed Smith founded Theophostic Prayer Ministry to enable the body of Christ to experience healing at a deep, life-changing level. I call it “healing in the HOV lane.” Jesus Christ (“Theo”) is the Great Physician of the heart and mind and delights in shining His light (“phostic”) into the dark places of the soul setting the prisoner free to walk with Him.

Decision-steering and relationship-disrupting lies that we harbor unknowingly within our conscious and subconscious minds can be replaced with Christ’s healing truth…if we are willing to expose them. The more you let Him inside to purify your soul, the more freedom you experience. Such healing can be done alone with the LORD, as illustrated above, or with a trained facilitator.

Be mindful that there are imitation ministries that claim Theophostic, but actually do something else. If you are interested in exploring this type of healing, be careful to source your information exclusively from the website above.

Theophostic Prayer has brought so much healing to me over the years that I am in the process of getting certification in this powerful ministry. I will be working with my friend, Micky Land, author of Ending the War with Myself – Loving Myself As God Does, and available to facilitate in 2016.

Blessings to you in your healing journey!

See also Therapies

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Feel What We Believe

  1. Pingback: Put Off the Flesh | ashleydwille

Leave a Reply

