Naked and Thankful

Who’s naked? I am.

I live naked before God. Really.

I realize that may sound kind of scary.

But between me and Him, I am just transparent and raw. Fully exposed. And I am not ashamed of my humanity because I know that I am fully accepted by Him. I don’t hide things from Him. I desire for Him to show me the issues I need to address. I trust Him to prepare me to see them at the appointed time. I trust Him to show me the steps I can take to heal them.

What about you? Have you ever lived naked like that? You should try it, and see how simple life can be with Him.

(When we live naked or uncovered before God, He covers us with His grace and discretion. Otherwise, when we live covered up or hidden before him, He will expose us. No fun.)

And thankful?  I am.

I am thankful that I serve a God who cares enough about me (and you) to arrange circumstances to teach me the lessons I need to learn. When He points something out, I know it’s in love because He died for me and in Him there is no condemnation. He teaches me so that I will conform to His wonderful image. I respond to His gracious initiative by saying, “Thank you!”

Where does thanks fit in for you? Thanks is always the best response to His initiative. And the more you give thanks, the more you want to give thanks.

(When we live with a thankful spirit before God, we eagerly agree with His pointers and insights. Otherwise, an ungrateful spirit curses us to a wasteland where we fight Him and miss the crucial life lessons He wants to teach us.)

Why do I live in nakedness and thanksgiving? I live this way because He has led me to this place. After years of living not knowing who I was in the turbulence of Romans 7, I finally realized who I really was, packed my bags and moved out.

It was time. No more games. No more smoke and mirrors. No more back and forth: “I’m in the dark; He’s in the light.” “My will to God’s will to my will again.” “Sin to Christ to sin again.” “Rededicating my life to Christ.” “Repenting again.”

Stop the insanity…”It is finished!” (John 19:30)

Bottom line: He owns me 100%. I am one spirit with him. It’s real simple. He is my Life.

I have settled down in Romans 8. Living in the land of Romans 8 freedom, no longer am I ever separated from Christ or living in darkness or wrestling with sin. He has taken away my sin. I live in a forgiven state of being. I have no righteousness in me (for sure), and have gladly received His as my very own. I am permanently in Christ, one spirit with Him, walking in His light as the new nature with sin behind me.

Think about it…

Without condemnation, there can be no separation.

With such security, trust makes nakedness perfectly natural. No fig leaves necessary.

Thankfulness replaces condemnation.

Agreeing with God in dealing with my issues clears the beams from my eyes.

With fewer beams in the way I can see myself and others more clearly.

Clarity empowers living in grace and truth.

Living in grace and truth feeds humility.

Humility allows overflow of God’s grace to myself and to others.

And each lesson I receive brings greater freedom and peace.

Now, who’s ready to live naked and thankful-?

For me, it’s the only way!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reflective questions:

How transparent am I with God? Why?

Do I hide things from Him?

Where I am blocked in trusting Him?

Do I believe He accepts all of me unconditionally?

Do I mistakenly believe He has condemnation for me?

Do I trust Him with my naked human soul?

Am I listening for His input?

Do I respond when He touches on something?

Do I believe He cares enough about me to want to teach me?

How much thankfulness do I give Him?

Do I recoil at the thought of God touching an area of my life?

What do I believe His intent to be in doing so?

Do I believe that God wants to punish me?

Do I believe He wants to teach me?

Do I believe deep down that I am the new nature?

Do I believe that He arranges my circumstances to teach me?

Do I have a teachable heart? Am I willing to ask Him for one?

 

Genesis 3:7 Then the  eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.

Genesis 3:21  The Lord God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them.

Matthew 22:37-39 You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

Hebrews 4:13 Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

Psalm 51:6 Behold, You desire truth in the inward parts, And in the hidden part You will make me to know wisdom.

Psalm 139:23 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

Psalm 37:5 Commit your way to the LORD; Trust him, and he will act.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new

Galatians 6:15 For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but a new creation.

1 Corinthians 6:17 But he who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.

John 1:29 The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!

John 10:27 My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.

John 14:26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

Ephesians 5:20 giving thanks always for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,

Romans 8:1 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

John 3:16-17 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

Hebrews 4:1 Therefore, since the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us be careful that none of you be found to have fallen short of it

Hebrews 4:16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

Hebrews 8:13 By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and outdated will soon disappear.

Hebrews 9:26b But he has appeared once for all at the culmination of the ages to do away with sin by the sacrifice of himself.

Hebrews 10:18 And where these have been forgiven, sacrifice for sin is no longer necessary

Hebrews 13:5b Amp. I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]

Romans 8:3-4 Amp.  For God has done what the Law could not do, [its power] being weakened by the flesh [the entire nature of man without the Holy Spirit]. Sending His own Son in the guise of sinful flesh and as an offering for sin, [God] condemned sin in the flesh [subdued, overcame, deprived it of its power over all who accept that sacrifice]

 So that the righteous and just requirement of the Law might be fully met in us who live and move not in the ways of the flesh but in the ways of the Spirit [our lives governed not by the standards and according to the dictates of the flesh, but controlled by the Holy Spirit].

1 John 3:3 And everyone who has this hope fixed on Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.

John 19:30 When Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, It is finished! And He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.

 

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

