Faithfulness

eyesGod puts pictures of Himself all around us.

But do we have eyes to see them?

The fruit of the Spirit can operate unnoticed in our lives until He highlights it for us. Faithfulness is a fruit of the Spirit (Gal. 5:22-23) that God has placed in my life.

God has shown me that He gave me the gift of faithfulness when he gave me my husband and friend, Thom. I say that because Thom has been Christ to me in his faithfulness in our relationship. His history of integrity and loyalty to me is exemplary. After nearly 26 years of marriage and being together for over 32 years, he continues in his faithfulness to me.

In recent years his faithfulness has magnified because in humility he is learning to love me as Christ loves the church. This is the highest calling for a husband. In my eyes, such a pursuit makes him a man’s man. I am so very proud of him for stepping up to the plate to follow God’s calling in complete faithfulness.

One of Thom’s mentors, Ken Nair (author of Discovering the Mind of a Woman and Discovering the Heart of a Man), sometimes gets the question, “Oh, is yours that ministry that bashes husbands?” Ken kindly answers them, “No. Actually, our ministry doesn’t bash husbands at all, it crucifies them.”

Thank God for a husband who is firm and devoted in faithfulness.

Thank God for a husband that is learning to love his wife as Christ loves His bride.

Thank God that we pushed through the trying years and waited on God to prove Himself faithful to bring us to this fruitful place.

God is unbelievably faithful.

Thank you, God, for placing your pillar of faithfulness in my life.

Where has God placed pictures of faithfulness or other fruit of the Spirit in your life? Ask Him to show you.

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

Psalm 33:4 For the word of the Lord is right and true; he is faithful in all he does.

1 Corinthians 1:9 God is faithful

Revelation 19:11 After that I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse [appeared]! The One Who was riding it is called Faithful (Trustworthy, Loyal, Incorruptible, Steady) and True, and He passes judgment and wages war in righteousness (holiness, justice, and uprightness).

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

