Stepping into Ephesians

Let us take a glimpse into reality and lose ourselves in Ephesians 3:16-19, which describes the riches of Christ’s glory in the Sabbath rest to which we have complete access by faith. This passage (in the Amplified version) says:

16 May He grant you out of the rich treasury of His glory to be strengthened and reinforced with mighty power in the inner man by the [Holy] Spirit [Himself indwelling your innermost being and personality].17 May Christ through your faith [actually] dwell (settle down, abide, make His permanent home) in your hearts! May you be rooted deep in love and founded securely on love,

18 That you may have the power and be strong to apprehend and grasp with all the saints [God’s devoted people, the experience of that love] what is the breadth and length and height and depth [of it]; 19 [That you may really come] to know [practically, [a]through experience for yourselves] the love of Christ, which far surpasses [b]mere knowledge [without experience]; that you may be filled [through all your being] [c]unto all the fullness of God [may have the richest measure of the divine Presence, and [d]become a body wholly filled and flooded with God Himself]!

As I read the passage, a mighty angelic being appears before me beaming in holiness. He clears through the mist as he approaches in the distance. He brings forth effortlessly a tremendous, ornate chest full of treasure. As he nears I behold the pure gold chest filled to overflowing with precious gems in shimmering, unique styles and grand sizes human eyes have never seen. He ventures even closer and places it decisively before me.

I look behind me for the intended recipient of such grace. But there is no one else around but me.

How can I possibly receive such precious provisions? In awe and humility I drop to my knees.

I reach forth hesitantly to examine an emerald, my birthstone. I carefully consider its weight and custom design as each jewel is provided for a particular need. As I appreciate each piece of heavenly treasure, I am quickened in my spirit to prayerfully slip each one snugly where it seems to belong within my soul. As I do so I am subtly filled with affectionate peace and joy inexpressible. I breathe in appropriating grace to me in fresh appreciation of this provision.

Noticeably strengthened, built up in faith, and reinforced foundationally within, I delight in His growing abundance as the eyes of my heart enjoy His majesty. I am overwhelmed, lost in my Master’s powerful love and indulgent grace. His treasure, now stored within, continually comforts and fills my heart to overflowing.

Growing my once-waning spirit luminous and mighty, it surprisingly expands within me. It grows to overtake my being in its impenetrable glory, lifting me above ground to carry me along. As I welcome and surrender to His leading and provision, His buoyant love effuses outward continually from within. It emits a bridal train of mesmerizing fragrance which expands to surround me. It parts everything in its way, opening for me a divinely appointed path on which to step, or should I say, float?

My soul learns to extend its thirsty roots securely into this unmerited favor with which the King of love lavishes me. This raiment of glory with which He adorns me inside and out is the supernatural fabric of the new creature God has made me. But it requires care. The Sustainer of my soul is holy and humble, requiring personal invitation and worshipful yielding. In this, He will preside in detail over me providing in His presence for my every need and longing. Once He is invited and received, though, He desires the continual pleasure of my hospitable, intimate fellowship. Slighting Him for too long will quench His delicate leadership as He, a true gentleman, abides attentively only where purposefully invited and well kept as a most honored Guest.

1 Corinthians 2:9-10 However, as it is written: “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived”— the things God has prepared for those who love him— these are the things God has revealed to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God

Ephesians 4:30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption

1 Thessalonians 5:19 Do not quench the Spirit.

1 Corinthians 6:17 But whoever is united with the Lord is one with him in spirit.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

