Through God’s Eyes

When I look at myself in the mirror each morning, how do I feel?

What are my thoughts about myself looking back at me?

Might I see myself through the eyes of a critical parent?

Or perhaps through the eyes of a disappointed teacher?

Or through some difficult circumstance I have endured?

In my distant thoughts I hear voices condemning me because I fail to live up to God’s law. I don’t even live up to my own standards for which I condemn myself. I sometimes hear others’ voices scolding me and condemning me as well, and sometimes I agree with them.

Oh, someone please help me escape this cycle of condemnation!

…When I neglect to discover God’s real thoughts toward me, a false and unnecessary distance between God and me is imagined.

It is a distance that He would prefer not exist.

I tend to think God’s thoughts of me are similar to my own thoughts of me. However, the reality is that unlike my thoughts, God’s thoughts of me are refreshingly high and uplifting! He holds nothing at all against me, but has absolute favor toward me!

God has great interest in me experiencing this truth, so much that He personally made a way through His Son, the Messiah.

In order for me to experience this truth, I simply need to

1) believe His words and

2) receive His love

3) with a child-like heart.

Romans 7:24-25a O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man that I am! Who will release and deliver me from [the shackles of] this body of death?
O thank God! [He will!] through Jesus Christ (the Anointed One) our Lord!

John 4:45 Put out of your minds the thought and do not suppose [as some of you are supposing] that I will accuse you before the Father. There is one who accuses you—it is Moses, the very one on whom you have built your hopes [in whom you trust].

John 3:16 For God so greatly loved and dearly prized you that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life

1 John 3:13a See what [an incredible] quality of love the Father has given (shown, bestowed on) us, that we should [be permitted to] be named and called and counted the children of God! And so we are!

Psalm 139:17 How precious and weighty also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

John 6:29 Jesus replied, This is the work (service) that God asks of you: that you believe in the One Whom He has sent [that you cleave to, trust, rely on, and have faith in His Messenger].

Matthew 19:14 But He said, Leave the children alone! Allow the little ones to come to Me, and do not forbid or restrain or hinder them, for of such [as these] is the kingdom of heaven composed.

Amos 3:3 Do two walk together except they make an appointment and have agreed?

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

