Clay

“…I’m going to demonstrate each step now. Here’s our clay and you can see how very pliable it is.”

That’s my back! Ouch! What are you doing to me? Geez… what do you think I’m made of? Ugh…easy with the crushing, please!

“And so we place the clay on the wheel like so.”

Ughh! Ohh, slamming me down? Fine. I thought we were friends. And by the way, who are all those people?

“Add a little water to soften it up.”

Ughlech! Cold water right in the face?! Ech…ahhh…ptuee….

“And now we’ll increase the speed of the wheel.”

Whoa! Slow down….I’m getting really dizzy… I think I’m…gonna barf….

“Anchoring is important because it is the foundation that we build on.”

What- anchor? What does anchor mean? Ay! Come on, can we have a little mercy here? I can’t breathe… or see anything. Are you seriously trying to suffocate me?

“Now it’s time to cone. Like so.”

Cone what? Ahhh! Ohhh! Are you trying to kill me? You might want to give me a chance to stretch first! Oh, no! Back down? Please! Do you ever quit? When will this torture end? Pleease-!

“Centering keeps the whole pot in balance. See?”

Centering–? What is that? Who are all those people? And why are they staring at me?

“As I drop hole you can see the pot start to take shape.”

Drop hole? I have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about! But I do know that this is a-gony! Why are you jamming your thumb…ohhh, God!… through my internal organs….!!

“Packing the bottom keeps the base strong so we can build on it.”

Packing the bottom? What is that supposed to mean? Leave my bottom alone! Ohh, what are you doing now? Ohhh, yeahh, that sponge feels good! Relief at last…

“This little sponge absorbs excess water and now I can raise the wall.”

clayRaise the wall? Forget it! I liked the sponge! Ahhhh!

“And you can see here how I’m recentering the rim. There we go.”

Recenter the rim? Ahh! Help! That rim used to be my shoulders and you’re crushing them! Ahhhh! Someone help me!! I can’t take it anymore!

“Now I’m finessing the shape like so.”

Shape? What? Haven’t you done enough already? Ouch!

“And now the trim, cut and removal.”

Trim? What?? You cannot be serious. Enough. Seriously, stop! Please don’t cut and remove! Please! No cutting!!

Ugh, oh,…tell me it’s over…tell me it’s over. Please….please….just a little relief.  Oh, man, this relief is overwhelming. I honestly thought that would never end.  Oh, I just can’t believe such relief…I thought it would never come.

Why are the people all smiling at me now?

What-? …Did I just hear something about a kiln??

Jeremiah 18:4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.

Isaiah 45:11 Jehovah, the Holy One of Israel, Israel’s Creator, says: What right have you to question what I do? Who are you to command me concerning the work of my hands?

Ephesians 2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Isaiah 29:16 Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it,
“You did not make me”?
Can the pot say to the potter,
“You know nothing”?

Isaiah 64:8 Yet you, Lord, are our Father.
We are the clay, you are the potter;
we are all the work of your hand.;

Job 2:10 Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?”

[The procedural steps of developing clay in the art of throwing pottery include the following: “anchor,” “cone up, cone down,” “centering,” “drop hole and open up,” “pack the bottom,” “ raise the wall,” “re-center the rim,” “shape the bowl,” “trim, cut and remove.”]

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

