Our True Nature

Last night I had a dream. It really freaked me out.

You’re a mature Christian. Can you please explain it to me?

Well, I’m not exactly sure of where I was, but it felt like I was suspended way out on some type of a threshold. To my left side lay the most disturbing darkness and feeling of terror I have ever known. It was so very deep and black! The blackness went on forever and ever. Like a monstrous black hole you see in those National Geographic photos of space, but I was floating right next to it. I don’t know how to describe it except to say that it was so heavy and totally empty and terrifyingly lonely. And the most terrifying part was that this darkness was alive! Oh, I shudder just remembering it.

On the opposite side though, there was this magnificent light, so bright and lovely and overwhelming in its purity, it’s hard to put into words. And it didn’t hurt my eyes. And the strange part was that the light seemed to be purposefully divided from the dark. It didn’t shine in to it in any way. There was a clear separation.

But I knew that I belonged to the light.

In front of me I saw these two huge mirrors: long, vertical and sparkling clear, one on the dark side and one just like it on the light side. The one on the dark side held these opaque capital letters hovering within it running from top to bottom. They spelled the word, INDEPENDENCE.

When I looked in to that mirror I saw my distorted reflection, but I could tell it wasn’t really me. I could see my decaying body wrapped in layers of these disgusting, smelly rags with a gooey muck all over them, dried in some places and fresh in others. It was awful! I scanned the image and shuttered in horror because I could not find my face. It was gone! It had been swallowed away in the darkness. There were only the rags left there on my body. At the sight of this, my whole body felt sick. I screamed and turned away burying my face in my hands.

Tree Reflection

Jer. 17:5-9

When I finally got the courage to look up again, I could only bear to look to the other side with the other mirror. It also had the same type of large opaque letters down the middle of it, but they spelled the word, DEPENDENCE. I cannot tell you how much fantastic light poured out of this mirror! It was whiter than snow and brighter than 10,000 suns with sparkles of majestic gold swirling throughout.

There I saw my image again. This time the image was the real me– and I radiated such beautiful light in this pure white luminescent robe. But it wasn’t just white like we know it. The white appeared much whiter and brighter than anything I had ever seen. And the cool part was that the robe was not at all like clothes that we wear. The robe was not separate from me at all; it was actually one with me. And I could see my face clearly right in front of me! My expression was extremely peaceful and content and confident like I had found what I had always wanted. And my eyes glowed deeply with so much love that it was just too much to believe.

Looking in to this mirror, I was so overcome with elation that my eyes welled up with tears. And these were tears of joy! I wanted to look forever into that mirror! I knew for sure I could never stand to look back at the other one, so I just kept gazing in to the beautiful one.

Then I woke up…

John 12:46
I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.

Romans 7:22,13:14 Amp.
For I endorse and delight in the Law of God in my inmost self [with my new nature].

2 Corinthians 5:17 Amp.
But clothe yourself with the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah), and make no provision for [indulging] the flesh [put a stop to thinking about the evil cravings of your physical nature] to [gratify its] desires (lusts).

Galatians 6:15 Amp.
For neither is circumcision [now] of any importance, nor uncircumcision, but [only] a new creation [the result of a new birth and a new nature in Christ Jesus, the Messiah].

Ephesians 4:24 Amp.
And put on the new nature (the regenerate self) created in God’s image, [Godlike] in true righteousness and holiness.

Ephesians 5:8
For once you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord; walk as children of Light [lead the lives of those native-born to the Light].

1 Thessalonians 5:5
For you are all sons of light and sons of the day; we do not belong either to the night or to darkness.

James 1:8
[For being as he is] a man of two minds (hesitating, dubious, irresolute), [he is] unstable and unreliable and uncertain about everything [he thinks, feels, decides].

John 1:50
…do you believe in and rely on and trust in Me?

Romans 8:3
For God has done what the Law could not do, [its power] being weakened by the flesh [the entire nature of man without the Holy Spirit]. Sending His own Son in the guise of sinful flesh and as an offering for sin, [God] condemned sin in the flesh [subdued, overcame, deprived it of its power over all who accept that sacrifice],

Romans 8:10
But if Christ lives in you, [then although] your [natural] body is dead by reason of sin and guilt, the spirit is alive because of [the] righteousness [that He imputes to you].

Romans 10:3
For being ignorant of the righteousness that God ascribes [which makes one acceptable to Him in word, thought, and deed] and seeking to establish a righteousness (a means of salvation) of their own, they did not obey or submit themselves to God’s righteousness.

Romans 11:6
But if it is by grace (His unmerited favor and graciousness), it is no longer conditioned on works or anything men have done. Otherwise, grace would no longer be grace [it would be meaningless].

Jeremiah 17:5-9 This is what the Lord says:
“Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans,
who rely on human strength
and turn their hearts away from the Lord.
They are like stunted shrubs in the desert,
with no hope for the future.
They will live in the barren wilderness,
in an uninhabited salty land.

Trust

TRUST

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord,
whose confidence is in him.
They will be like a tree planted by the water
that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
and never fails to bear fruit.”

1 Peter 1:8
Without having seen Him, you love Him; though you do not [even] now see Him, you believe in Him and exult and thrill with inexpressible and glorious (triumphant, heavenly) joy.

1 Peter 1:21
Through Him you believe in (adhere to, rely on) God, Who raised Him up from the dead and gave Him honor and glory, so that your faith and hope are [centered and rest] in God.

1 John 5:13
I write this to you who believe in (adhere to, trust in, and rely on) the name of the Son of God [in the peculiar services and blessings conferred by Him on men], so that you may know [with settled and absolute knowledge] that you [already] have life, yes, eternal life.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

