What About Me?

Problem Alert

YOUTUBE

When facing a problem, what is your mindset?

~Maybe your family is struggling with disrespectful teens.

~Maybe you and a co-worker cannot seem to cooperate on a project you’ve been assigned.

~Maybe your neighborhood association is not giving you the respect you deserve.

When we face problems, we’re spring-loaded from Adam (Gen 3:12) to point the finger at others’ errors instead of first taking account of our own.

The problem with this tendency is that it is deeply rooted in pride (Prov. 16:18). Ouch.

And what does pride come before? A fall. Ouch.

STEP BACK

Instead of automatically pointing the finger at others and facing a fall, let’s take a step back into objectivity. Let’s take a step down into humility.

And consider this…

In every problem we encounter, wisdom whispers:

1) What about me?
2) Where do I fit in to the problem?
3) I am a part of the family/team/neighborhood dynamic.
4) Am I contributing to the problem in any way?
5) How so? –In my words? Tone? Actions? Timing? Failure to act?

Maybe I am unknowingly provoking my teens to disrespect.

Maybe I am unknowingly sabotaging my co-worker.

Maybe I am unknowingly coming across as indignant to the neighborhood association.

I will not know unless God shows me.

If I am contributing to the problem at all, wouldn’t it be great to release myself from that liability?

When I do, God says that I will be able to see clearly! Because He honors a contrite heart. And the more clearly I see, the more help I can offer.

Little blonde girl praying - Deborah Conway at...

Problem prayer:
“God, in this problem I humble myself before you and ask you for wisdom. Please show me how I can eliminate any personal contribution to the problem. Open my eyes to see clearly how I can make this situation better. I will trust in your wisdom, not my own. Thank you for your wisdom.”

Matthew 7:3-5
“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4 How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5 You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Genesis 3:12
The man said, “The woman you put here with me—she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.”

Job 9:4
His wisdom is profound, his power is vast. Who has resisted him and come out unscathed?

Proverbs 16:18
Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.

Psalm 51:17
My sacrifice [the sacrifice acceptable] to God is a broken spirit; a broken and a contrite heart [broken down with sorrow for sin and humbly and thoroughly penitent], such, O God, You will not despise.

Psalm 111:10
The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding.

Proverbs 1:20
Out in the open wisdom calls aloud, she raises her voice in the public square;

Proverbs 2:12
Wisdom will save you from the ways of wicked men, from men whose words are perverse,

Proverbs 4:7
The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding.

Romans 11:33
Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God!

James 1:5
If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

James 3:13
Who is wise and understanding among you? Let them show it by their good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

