Cake

English: Wedding cake

Wow! Whose is that?! Honestly–that is such a beautiful cake!

Look at the detailed design on all three tiers, and those delicate flowers on top. I can tell by the delicious aroma that the icing is old-fashioned buttercream, my favorite. My mouth is watering already.

Man, I am using all kinds of self-control here you wouldn’t believe.

Whew. This is just too much. I’ve got to step back now… and take a deep breath.

Okay- I gotta face reality, and it might as well be now:

As much as I would love to indulge, I cannot say that it is my cake. Nor can I say that I was invited to the party.

Hmm. Oh well.

One thing I can say is, “Thank you, Lord, for such a beautiful sight.”

Proverbs 25:28
Like a city whose walls are broken through is a person who lacks self-control.

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

James 4:7
Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

James 1:12
Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him

Hebrews 4:15
For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin

2 Corinthians 5:17
Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

Ephesians 5:20
Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

