Illusion

English: blow hair dryer Italiano: Asciugacape...

“Hey!” I mouthed silently, offering a wave to my acquaintance who sat awkwardly underneath the blasting overhead hair dryer. Folded foil pieces jutted out four inches from her head in every direction leaving her little room to maneuver. Celebrity magazine lay open in her lap.
“Color?” the stylist asked me as he passed by.
“No, just a cut,” I replied.
“You can wait here, Mam,” he informed me, holding his hand out to the row of seats beside my friend. “Would you care for anything to drink?” he asked me.

“Water’s fine. Thank you, “I replied, taking a seat near my friend.

Although under the dryer she couldn’t hear anything, she spoke knowing I could.
“How are you?” she yelled through the blare, with excited eyes.
“Good,” I answered silently. “And you?” I asked, smiling and motioning to her.
“Good,” she answered nodding, then pointed to her ears motioning that we should save our conversation since she could not hear.
“Okay,” I mouthed in agreement. I crossed my legs waiting to be called. She turned her attention back to her publication and began perusing.

“Wow,” she said out loud to herself while reading, trying indirectly tDescription unavailableo include me in the magazine pageantry, “so young and beautiful– and fashionable!”

“You really believe they’ve arrived?” I asked, glancing at the pages, knowing she couldn’t hear me. She licked her fingers and eagerly turned the page. She read some more.
“Whew,” she said to herself, “mega yachts in Monaco… must be nice!” She looked sideways toward me batting her eyelashes.
“You really believe they’ve got it all?” I asked, my voice drowned out by the dryer. She scanned down the page and over to the next.
“Mmm,” she commented, “private jet, not bad,” curling her lips under and shaking her head slightly back and forth.
She turned a few more pages and examined the latest colorful paparazzi photos.
“He made another Forbes cover as CFO?” she sighed in unbelief, “I’m so impressed…”

Propping her elbows on the arms of the chair, she adjusted herself to get more comfortable in the tight quarters of the roaring dryer. Dropping her head, she fell completely engrossed in the gossip.

“She’s ready for you now, Mam,” the assistant stylist informed me, inviting me to come along. Grabbing my purse, I followed. Looking back, I bid my duped acquaintance an unnoticed farewell and God a prayer to open her spiritual eyes.

Proverbs 18:8
The words of a gossip are like choice morsels; they go down to the inmost parts.

Luke 12:15
Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life does not consist in an abundance of possessions.”

Proverbs 11:4
Wealth is worthless in the day of wrath,
but righteousness delivers from death.

Proverbs 11:28
Those who trust in their riches will fall,
but the righteous will thrive like a green leaf.

Proverbs 31:30
Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Matthew 6:24
No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money

Matthew 13:22
The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful.

Matthew 19:21
Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

Galatians 1:10
For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ.

John 12:43
for they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.

Mark 10:24
The disciples were amazed at his words. But Jesus said again, “Children, how hard it is to enter the kingdom of God.

1 Corinthians 3:13
their work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each person’s work.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

