Discovery

My dad, what a gentleman! So generous and thoughtful, he gave me for my birthday last year a silver watch from Switzerland. It holds an opal face with Roman numerals. He knew he could trust me with it because he knows me so well.

I’ve always been conscientious, and pride myself on being responsible so I immediately took out insurance on the watch. I’ve cleaned and polished it every single day since he gave it to me. Furthermore, I take it for regular visits to Gus Murphy, the local watch repairman. He checks it thoroughly and gives me tips on how to keep it in top condition.

Every morning, the very first thing I do is wind my new watch. That way I’m sure it will always give me the right time and never run slow. I sure would hate to be late to an appointment because I failed to wind it properly. I always worry that I might forget to wind it and I think about what would happen then. I despise tardiness. I know the watch depends on me to wind it so that it can function in its full capacity.

Funny thing happened yesterday on my way home from work. I stopped by the shop to see Gus so he could give my watch a once over and make sure everything was okay inside. As I reached to open the door, I mentioned that I never failed to wind it each morning. I smiled proudly waiting to receive accolades from such an experienced watch expert.

But he didn’t give me any.

Instead, he pulled up the light on his visor and leaned back in his squeaky chair. He folded his arms and in his Tennessee accent replied, “You kiddin’? Humph! That jewel there’s got a lifetime battery, Mam. You’re all set!”

Deflating the Balloon

Deflating the Balloon (Photo credit: Tracy Hunter)

I didn’t know what to say as I let the door close behind me. Like a deflated balloon I walked slowly to my car as it began to sprinkle. I got in, closed the door and took off my watch. I examined it closely.

It was such a fine watch, one I could never afford in my wildest dreams. But even so, I have to admit I feel pretty devastated that I no longer have a daily duty to fulfill in maintaining it myself. Hmm, I really need to explore that…

Gosh, you know, I think this battery somehow feels like a threat to me when I really think about it. Yeah, and I guess the bottom line is that if I could ever give up my pride and need to control then I would be okay with the battery.

As I sat in the parking lot thinking to myself, the rain continued to patter on the windshield. I watched a faint rainbow begin to glow over the back of the shop as the sun peeked out from behind the mass of clouds.

Giving up pride and control….I wonder what that would be like. How would I feel if I didn’t feel proud and in control? Gosh, I don’t know. Well, there’s that verse in James about God resisting the proud but giving grace to the humble. Humble, yes, I could feel humble…

What is humility anyway? I guess it’s the opposite of pride, I thought to myself. So, I closed my eyes and imagined feeling humble instead of feeling proud.

That makes sense. Yes, humble in knowing the watch was given to me by my dad who loves me so very much. That would feel good.

And humble in being so thankful because I know I could never afford it myself. That feels really good.

And maybe even being relieved that it has a lifetime battery because that’s one less thing I have to worry about…

I love my father as the stars - he's a bright ...

Wow, Dad — you’re the best!

Ephesians 1:13b-14
When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.

2 Corinthians 1:22
[He has also appropriated and acknowledged us as His by] putting His seal upon us and giving us His [Holy] Spirit in our hearts as the security deposit and guarantee [of the fulfillment of His promise].

Acts 20:32
And now [brethren], I commit you to God [I deposit you in His charge, entrusting you to His protection and care]. And I commend you to the Word of His grace [to the commands and counsels and promises of His unmerited favor]. It is able to build you up and to give you [your rightful] inheritance among all God’s set-apart ones (those consecrated, purified, and transformed of soul).

Romans 6:22
But now since you have been set free from sin and have become the slaves of God, you have your present reward in holiness and its end is eternal life.

Hebrews 5:9
and, once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him

Hebrews 10:10, 14
And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all

1 John 3:3
For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy

John 13:10
Jesus answered, “Those who have had a bath need only to wash their feet; their whole body is clean.

Ephesians 3:16-18
May He grant you out of the rich treasury of His glory to be strengthened and reinforced with mighty power in the inner man by the [Holy] Spirit [Himself indwelling your innermost being and personality].

May Christ through your faith [actually] dwell (settle down, abide, make His permanent home) in your hearts! May you be rooted deep in love and founded securely on love,

That you may have the power and be strong to apprehend and grasp with all the saints [God’s devoted people, the experience of that love] what is the breadth and length and height and depth [of it];

Titus 2:14
Who gave Himself on our behalf that He might redeem us (purchase our freedom) from all iniquity and purify for Himself a people [to be peculiarly His own, people who are] eager and enthusiastic about [living a life that is good and filled with] beneficial deeds.

Hebrews 12:2
Looking away [from all that will distract] to Jesus, Who is the Leader and the Source of our faith [giving the first incentive for our belief] and is also its Finisher [bringing it to maturity and perfection].

John 13:18
I know whom I have chosen

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

