Trusting

Traffic slows to a crawl on the Monash Freeway...I crept along with the mass of cars surrounding me. I couldn’t help raging and thinking how badly this mess was wearing on my engine. I stared back at the red, blinking lights. My lids fell as my head dropped between my white knuckles. The weight of my frame pulled at my hands.

I suddenly jumped, noticing someone in my car! Relaxing to my right was Jesus Christ. What a shock. I was actually embarrassed to admit it, but I had totally forgotten He was with me. I remembered back at home, eight years old, praying to receive Him in Mrs. Boyd’s Sunday school class.

Words sliced through my thoughts.

“Mind if I drive?” He asked.

“Oh, it’s OK. I got it.” I straightened up, gripping the wheel with confidence. He grinned
patiently, looking ahead. We traveled on mile after mile. Finding my weariness difficult to hide, I kept forcing my droopy eyelids back open. With a sheepish glance I finally acquiesced and mumbled, “Oh, go ahead. I guess I could use the break.”

As He drove I tried not to stare. Through the miles I couldn’t help but notice that face of His was so serene and accepting. As I watched Him I became absorbed in His finesse. He glanced over at me with a knowing look, as I quickly forced my eyes ahead. I blushed, realizing what a control freak He must think I am.

Taking a deep breath I finally stretched out my legs, “This is great,” I confessed. “Why did it take so long for me to hand it over to Him?” I wondered.

We finally merged onto the interstate. He casually suggested that I might want to enjoy the ride home. I let my seat back and followed through with His offer, agreeing to rest my eyes for just a minute.

Suddenly I found myself startled again! In a panic I sat up from the seat wondering, Why am I lying in the passenger seat of my own car?!

I flashed a dazed look at the driver. I remembered Him, and felt at ease.

Discreetly, I wiped the drool from the corner of my grin with a realization that there may be hope for me after all.

(2002)

Philippians 3:20-21
But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.

2 Timothy 1:7
For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control

1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love

Philippians 4:13
I can do all things through him who strengthens me

Psalm 56:3-4
When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?

Proverbs 16:3
Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established

John 14:27
Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid

2 Corinthians 2:14
But thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trusting

  1. Pingback: The Power of the Cross and the Purpose of Confession | ashleydwille

Leave a Reply

