Soldier

BreastplateThe General specifically instructed me to fasten on all this gear. I am his soldier, so I must oblige.

Let’s see what we have here: a shiny helmet, a heavy belt. Hmm, this looks like a fancy pair of slippers, a sword, a massive shield… and a very expensive-looking breastplate.

Which one should I try on first? The helmet looks cool. Let’s see if it fits. There we go. Not bad; it fits nice and snug.

Hmm…how about the little slippers? They look comfy. One. Okay, now the other. Oh, yeah, they are actually comfortable, not like all those other fancy shoes that hurt my feet. Awesome.

Okay, let’s go for the belt. Ugh, heavy to pick up… and if I can just manage to turn it just so to fit it around my waist…now to just fasten the buckle. There! It fits me. Hey-I feel stronger already. It’s not too weighty, just packed full of truth. I feel secure with this substantial accessory holding me together.

That breastplate looks mighty formidable, and pricey. Eek. I don’t know about that.

Maybe I’ll check out the sword instead. Hey, look at the cool handle. I love the emblem. Wow! This thing is so lightweight, agile, and razor-sharp on both sides. Whew, did you hear that? This baby can whip through air faster than lightning. I sure feel sorry for the guy that gets caught on the other side of it. Oh, and look, the belt has a side sheath to carry the sword. How convenient. Let me fit it in here. There!

Look at that shield! It is huge! Goodness, this looks like all the protection I could ever need my whole life. Nothing’s going to penetrate this. Let’s see, if I grab the handle and hold it up like this in front of me, it works. I can imagine all my buddies circled around me side by side; our shields held together will make a complete defense for us all.

Alright, finally time for the breastplate. I really don’t know why I am hesitating so on this piece. I guess maybe because appears to be the most expensive. And maybe I secretly doubt if it could ever fit me….but that shouldn’t bother me. If the General told me to put it on, I should just do it, right? And deal with my insecurities later.

Okay, here we go. Man, this thing is nice! I can’t believe I never noticed the stunning Faith and Love inscription on the inside. Let me fasten it here. Okay. Wow, there’s really nothing awkward about it at all. In fact, it feels comfortable especially since I know that now all my vulnerable organs have such protection. I actually feel safe and secure with it on, like when I wear my seatbelt in the car.

Well, I did it! –I finally put on every piece of my armor. And it feels good! You know, I think I could really get used to this get-up.

When I think about it, the fact is that the General ordered me to put it on.

Hmm…I don’t recall him ever ordering me to take it off.

For the long haul, I better learn to become one with each piece.

Job 29:14
I put on righteousness as my clothing;
justice was my robe and my turban.

Romans 13:12
The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light

Romans 13:14
Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh

1 Corinthians 6:17
But whoever is united with the Lord is one with him in spirit

Ephesians 4:24
and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness

Ephesians 6:10-13
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand

1 Thessalonians 5:8
But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet

Colossians 3:10
and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator 14; And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

2 Timothy 2:3-4
Join with me in suffering, like a good soldier of Christ Jesus. 4 No one serving as a soldier gets entangled in civilian affairs, but rather tries to please his commanding officer

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

