Secret Lover

My hidden Lover is ever-present.
He peeks at me with a wink
When my tender toddler belly laughs
At our frisky Spaniel racing wildly from her bath.

When angry words slay my heart
He caresses my soul with eyes of tenderness.
Love lingers patiently, longing to capture my gaze
As anxious thoughts harass me.

With His overflowing grace
He heavily soothes my fragmented mind
When interruption after interruption
Blind my mind’s path to my heart.

My agitated ears welcome the faint melody
Of an old hymn in which He rescues my confused mind
And quiets my distressing soul.

When waves of loneliness crash onto my heart
My Lover comforts me with the warmth of His presence
In the whisper of a passing butterfly.

As ropes of a never-ending day threaten to strangle me
He spills shutter beams and dancing shadow leaves
Across the floor, wooing me to surrender
Stepping back into the freedom of His presence.

(2002)

Song of Solomon 2:16
My beloved is mine, and I am his;

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

