Depression

I don’t recall them being snuck on me
I guess they were, one by one
The coats, I mean
Thick, drenched wool
Six of them
Full length with hoods
And bulky wooden buttons secure
No matter how I squirmed
I could not writhe free
“Come, skip with us,” I heard up high
Skip?
Move?
Escape attempts
Only compounded weariness
And hopelessness
“Here, take my hand,” I heard above
Reach?
Lift?
I don’t recall being lowered inside
I guess it happened overnight
The pit, I mean
Dark and deep and dank
Too far down to see out
Too far down to remember up
Too far down to breath with
The two-hundred sixty pound creature
Still sound asleep
Across my chest

Job 10:18-19
Why then have You brought me out of the womb?
Would that I had died and no eye had seen me!
19 ‘I should have been as though I had not been,
Carried from womb to tomb.’

Psalm 34:17-18
When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

Matthew 11:28
Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Isaiah 41:10
Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 143:7-8
Answer me quickly, O Lord! My spirit fails! Hide not your face from me, lest I be like those who go down to the pit. Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.

Psalm 23:4
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Psalm 9:9
The Lord is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

Psalm 3:3
But you, O Lord, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.

Ecclesiastes 7:3-4
Sorrow is better than laughter, for by sadness of face the heart is made glad. The heart of the wise is in the house of mourning, but the heart of fools is in the house of mirth.

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

2 Corinthians 1:4-6
Who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too. If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer.

Psalm 40:2
He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

