The Invitation

There He was again! I could make out that silhouette instantly. Up on the hill, He walked along arrayed in splendor! The breeze dancing with His robe gave the appearance that He walked on air. Yet, I leaned out squinting and covering my brow to see each foot actually came to touch the ground.

Down the hillside He approached brightening the dark valley with His presence. Moments later passing my abode, He stopped to extend His scarred hand directly toward me, just out of my reach.  In my shadows I looked down and fidgeted mumbling, “I’m okay here. At least I know what to expect.”

I glanced up slightly to witness His reaction. His eyes filled with such overwhelming compassion pierced my soul and forced my gaze back down.

“Do you want to come out and be real with Me?” He asked. I did, but I didn’t. It sounded wonderful. But doing it was something else altogether. I had become strangely comfortable in the safety of this little booth I had grown up in.

opening the door

Cracking the door years ago had allowed a ray of His light to reach inside. Although unsightly now under His illumination, these walls felt somehow safe. They held the shame and loneliness I embraced inside. I did not realize it until that moment, but these walls had become my friends. I examined their condition. In light of His brilliance, they looked pretty disgusting. Funny, I couldn’t recall noticing any odor. Then, I couldn’t remember the last time I had ventured outside of them.

I did want to answer Him, but I could not seem to get the words out. Finally, they came.

“Yes, I do!” I said out loud. “But all of my hidden pain and insecurity, and that thing I’ve never shared with anyone, how could He love me? And how could I ever trust Him with all this?” I wondered. His blazing eyes drew my gaze back up where I found His warm smile still there.

“One day you will,” He said.

Isaiah 61:1
The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is upon me,
for the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor.
He has sent me to comfort the brokenhearted
and to proclaim that captives will be released
and prisoners will be freed

2 Corinthians 3:17
For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

1 Timothy 2:6
He gave his life to purchase freedom for everyone. This is the message God gave to the world at just the right time.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

