The True Self

YOUTUBE

I live inside my robe. It is the only garment I wear now. Or at least the only one Christ says I need to wear. I actually received it intentionally from His hand of grace. It is tailor-made perfectly for me in every way. Woven delicately with powerful truths and stunning qualities of love, it covers me at all times. I can’t believe I resisted receiving it for so many years thinking that it was for me to enjoy only in heaven.

Do you see little shimmers of God’s glory shining out in places? My robe is so well woven that it is indestructible by the world. Inside my cloak I am resting in the righteousness of Christ. I worship Him and tell you of all the great and mighty things He has done in my life.

I have recently heard an unsettling rumor that this robe must be earned. This is most disturbing to hear because Christ told me that His robe of righteousness is freely given by grace to anyone humble enough to receive it. And He has given it specifically to me to wear because I belong exclusively to Him.

Deep inside my cloak there are some wounded places that need healing. My cloak is a healing armament of protection and comfort for me. It keeps me safe and secure in Christ’s righteousness while He gradually heals the damaged places in my soul.

I know that this robe is truly mine because Christ insists that I wear it. Because I am a child of God, if I intend to grow I must come to face the fact that this robe that Christ has given me is the all surpassing gift of righteousness. It’s the most important garment I’ll ever wear.

Job 29:14
I put on righteousness as my clothing

Isaiah 61:10
I delight greatly in the LORD;  my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation  and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,  and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

Romans 8:9
You, however, are not in the realm of the flesh but are in the realm of the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God lives in you.

2 Corinthians 5:17
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

Galatians 6:15
Neither circumcision nor uncircumcision means anything; what counts is the new creation.

Psalm 23:3b
He leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Romans 4:3
For what saith the scripture? And Abraham believed God, and it was reckoned unto him for righteousness.

Luke 15:22
“But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet.

Ephesians 6:13
Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.

Ephesians 5:8
For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light

1 Thessalonians 5:5
You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

