The False Self

YOUTUBE

I live inside my cloak. It is who I am. Or at least who I think I am. I actually pieced it together myself over the years. My cloak is made up of convenient ideas and labels I use to protect, defend, justify, validate and promote myself.

Can you see my eyes peeking out?

My cloak is so well woven you can’t tell where it ends and I begin. Inside my cloak I am all about me. I will tell you things about myself to impress you and make you like me and think I’m great.

I have recently heard an unsettling truth that this cloak of mine is actually not who I am. This is most confusing to me because this identity is all I have ever known.

Deep inside my cloak I am a wounded child. My cloak is a shield of protection for me. But the problem is my shield is made up of lies, and it keeps me locked inside and everyone else locked out. I want to think that the cloak is my friend. But if I intend to grow in Christ, I must come to face the truth that this cloak of mine is not who I am.

Genesis 35:2
So Jacob said to his household and to all who were with him, “Get rid of the foreign gods you have with you, and purify yourselves and change your clothes.

Romans 8:9
You, however, are not in the realm of the flesh but are in the realm of the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God lives in you.

Colossians 3:8
But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.

1 Peter 2:1
Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind.

Hebrews 12:1-2
Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.

Romans 7:17
As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me.

2 Corinthians 5:17
Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here!

Ephesians 5:8
For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light

2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.

James 5:16
Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Stories/Narratives and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

