Named

YOUTUBE

Have you been named?

I’m not referring to your birth name, but to other names.

You know, the name(s) people gave you that secretly stuck with you over the years.

“Lazy,” “ugly,” “stupid.” You know yours.

But who gave you this name?

A parent, sibling or relative? Maybe a classmate? Or even a teacher?

Thinking about those days and the damage done by those names can be painful.

Did you know that the only person who has the authority to NAME you is the One Who CREATED you?

It’s true. Think about it.

God created you and has sole authority to name you.

One of the names He has given you is Beloved.

As His child, you are Beloved. His very own Beloved.

You are beautiful for Him to behold.

…But how can that be, you may ask, with all of my issues?

Because through His new birth He has placed you in to Christ. And Christ is in God.

Consider releasing the names that people gave you. Those people and those names have no authority over you. None at all.

Consider receiving the names that God has for you. Beloved is the first. His names for you have full and complete authority over you.

You can honestly say to yourself, “I am God’s Beloved.”

Song of Solomon 2:16
My beloved is mine and I am his!

Isaiah 5:1
Let me [as God’s representative] sing of and for my greatly Beloved [God, the Son] a tender song of my Beloved concerning His vineyard [His chosen people]. My greatly Beloved had a vineyard on a very fruitful hill.

Isaiah 43:1
But now [in spite of past judgments for Israel’s sins], thus says the Lord, He Who created you, O Jacob, and He Who formed you, O Israel: Fear not, for I have redeemed you [ransomed you by paying a price instead of leaving you captives]; I have called you by your name; you are Mine.

Isaiah 45:4
For the sake of Jacob My servant, and of Israel My chosen, I have called you by your name. I have surnamed you, though you have not known Me.

Isaiah 54:6
For the Lord has called you like a woman forsaken, grieved in spirit, and heartsore—even a wife [wooed and won] in youth, when she is [later] refused and scorned, says your God.

Mark 1:11
And there came a voice out from within heaven, You are My Beloved Son; in You I am well pleased.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

