Bondage

Got back from a church service yesterday. As I left, I had the strange feeling that I was being pulled back in time, back to the days when I was trapped in bondage to the idea of working to please God.

Oh yeah– I remember now… there was always something else I had to do to please God…I needed to pray more often or differently, read the Bible more often or differently, and of course, feel bad about myself because I was not performing well enough for Him.

I believed these heresies back then because at that time, unfortunately, my primary connection to God was through the teachings of man, which by the way, is no connection at all.

But wait… I am not lost back there in time. I am here and it is today. And that’s not what God has taught me!

Since those gloomy days, God has called me out of the teachings of man to follow Him one-on-one listening to the things of the Spirit through the Holy Spirit (1 Cor. 2:12-13). For many years now I have enjoyed an intimate and exciting relationship with God, independent from popular church doctrine and preachers and teachers. I teach my daughter’s Sunday school class, attend services to take part in corporate worship and see friends but do not base my relationship with God on man. My intimate small group of four meets regularly and we share with each other anything and everything and pray for one another (James 5:16). Meanwhile the LORD and I hang out together 24/7 regardless of circumstances and He is always teaching me new things through many differing sources, revealing His purposes all around me and guiding me into all truth (John 16:13).

The problem with the goose chase of always trying to please God and never being able to do enough for Him is that… when you get to know Him intimately, He is not like that. Confusing it is because although some churches may still present the Word of God uncensored, they often present it through their own understanding (Prov. 3:5) limiting the grace of God (Gal. 2:21), and thus through their own personal bondage lead their congregations into the same ugly trap. A dangerous situation which Jesus warned us about (John 5:39, 7:17).

Through the Holy Spirit and the Word (1 Cor. 2:10, John 14:26, John 16:13), God has taught me personally to disregard workaholic teachings as a total waste of time (Gal. 5:9). Think about it. Alcoholism, shopaholism, sexaholism, workaholism are all the same thing: addictions. If workaholics were listening to the Spirit of God, God would be leading them to deal with their root issues (Matt. 3:10) of unbelief which are carefully hidden behind their pride.

Instead of leading me into workaholism, my Teacher (John 13:14) has led me in to the glorious freedom (Gal. 5:1) that only Christ Jesus can offer. He has led me to the final destination, the Sabbath Rest of God (Heb. 4:9).

God has led me to allow him to be God Almighty all the time! And that means I don’t have to be.

He does all the work through me while I rest in Him (Matt. 11:28-30).
He reveals while I seek (Matt. 16:33).
He clears the path while I walk in faith (2 Cor. 5:7).

Easy Yoke + Light Burden = Jesus Christ.

If anyone at all dares block you from the fullness of freedom that Christ came to give you, beware, you are tip-toeing into enemy territory (Gal. 5:1, 1 Peter 5:8). Once you have tasted and lived in this freedom, you will automatically sense the “evil persuasion” (Gal. 5:8) the instant you encounter it.

If you feel distant from God or that He has placed demands on you that you can never fulfill, Christ is the exit door from the lonely treadmill (Matt. 11:28-30).

My personal story of how God led me from bondage to freedom is chronicled in my book.

George Barna’s book, entitled Revolution, is an interesting read as well at Amazon

Proverbs 3:5
Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;

Matthew 3:10
The ax is already at the root of the trees, and every tree that does not produce good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire.

Matthew 11:28-30
Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.]
Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls.
For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good–not harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.

Matthew 6:33
But seek (aim at and strive after) first of all His kingdom and His righteousness (His way of doing and being right), and then all these things taken together will be given you besides.

Galatians 2:21
[Therefore, I do not treat God’s gracious gift as something of minor importance and defeat its very purpose]; I do not set aside and invalidate and frustrate and nullify the grace (unmerited favor) of God. For if justification (righteousness, acquittal from guilt) comes through [observing the ritual of] the Law, then Christ (the Messiah) died groundlessly and to no purpose and in vain. [His death was then wholly superfluous.]

Galatians 5:1
In [this] freedom Christ has made us free [and completely liberated us]; stand fast then, and do not be hampered and held ensnared and submit again to a yoke of slavery [which you have once put off].

Galatians 5:8
This [evil] persuasion is not from Him Who called you [Who invited you to freedom in Christ].

Galatians 5:9
A little leaven (a slight inclination to error, or a few false teachers) leavens the whole lump [it perverts the whole conception of faith or misleads the whole church].

Hebrews 4:9
So then, there is still awaiting a full and complete Sabbath-rest reserved for the [true] people of God;

John 5:39
You search and investigate and pore over the Scriptures diligently, because you suppose and trust that you have eternal life through them. And these [very Scriptures] testify about Me!

John 6:29
Jesus replied, This is the work (service) that God asks of you: that you believe in the One Whom He has sent [that you cleave to, trust, rely on, and have faith in His Messenger].

John 13:14
If I then, your Lord and Teacher (Master)…

1 Corinthians 2:10
But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God. For what man knows the things of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so no one knows the things of God except the Spirit of God. Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might know the things that have been freely given to us by God

I Corinthians 2:12, 13
Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with spiritual .

1 Corinthians 2:14
But the natural, nonspiritual man does not accept or welcome or admit into his heart the gifts and teachings and revelations of the Spirit of God, for they are folly (meaningless nonsense) to him; and he is incapable of knowing them [of progressively recognizing, understanding, and becoming better acquainted with them] because they are spiritually discerned and estimated and appreciated.

2 Corinthians 5:7
For we walk by faith [we regulate our lives and conduct ourselves by our conviction or belief respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, with trust and holy fervor; thus we walk] not by sight or appearance.

1 Peter 5:8
Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring [ in fierce hunger], seeking someone to seize upon and devour.

John 7:17
If any man desires to do His will (God’s pleasure), he will know (have the needed illumination to recognize, and can tell for himself) whether the teaching is from God or whether I am speaking from Myself and of My own accord and on My own authority.

John 14:26
But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I have said to you”

John 16:13
However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guise you into all truth …”

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

