Kitty Codependent?

I’ve been thinking. And I’ve concluded that I might be codependent…on my cat.

Is that even possible?

The fact is that our cat, Henry, is the most lovable animal I have ever known. With a chilled-out personality, he simultaneously carries a friendly friskiness that is most attractive. He naps in my laundry basket, makes biscuits and nurses on my youngest daughter’s favorite blanket and follows me around the house eagerly awaiting car rides, during which he props up on the passenger door and sniffs like a dog out the cracked window with his wide-set eyes, handsome squared-off nose and ears tucked back Yoda-style.

About a year old, he faithfully jumps up in my lap to purr, sleeps on top of me in the bed, plays with the dripping faucet while I take a hot bath, and from atop the hutch meows at me while pawing the backdoor knob.

His emphatic backdoor meow means, “Please take me out for a ride in the car or for a walk in my new stroller. My instincts are killing me! You know I crave to smell the fresh air and track all the squirrels and birds darting around out there. The screen porch is just a tease…pleeeease!”

The cat stroller was half price at Petsmart. I had no idea Henry would use it to take over my life.

But how can I resist this adorable little creature? At 14″ tall, he is dominating me –and I love it. The problem is that he sometimes leads me to do something that I’ve always taught my kids not to do: procrastinate. Oops. I can honestly say that I will gladly postpone doing some task to spend time with him instead.

On second thought, after slowing down from multi-tasking on high-speed for the past twenty years, it might just do a mind and body good to embrace the changing life seasons, release life’s counterfeit urgency and simply indulge in the free God-given luxuries. While our old four-wheeler marriage grinds up a steep, rocky embankment and two of our four children have flown the coup, codependent or not, I humbly receive this cat as a “blankie” from heaven.

God has sent him to be the soft, sweet place in my life during this transitional time.

Thank you, God, for Henry!

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

