Tents

In life, there are two tents.

Little known truth is that only we have the power to decide in which we will live.

The first tent is called DISCON. The “Discon” tent is a life defined by “a restless desire or craving for something one does not have.”

The second tent is called CON. The “Con” tent is a life defined as “satisfied with what one is or has; not wanting more or anything else.”

Regardless of our circumstances, we choose our tent.

What’s going on in your life today?

I won the lottery.
I got a new car.
I got married.
I had a new healthy baby.
My son graduated top of his class.
I’m taking a long vacation.
We got a seat on the front row of the concert.
We got stuck in traffic.
Our favorite restaurant was booked for our anniversary.
I got attacked my mosquitoes.
My child got lice at school.
My teen is on drugs.
I am forced financially to move away from loved ones.
A family member received a cancer diagnosis.
A postal shooting took place in my town.
Martial law has been implemented in our country.
Sharia law is being enforced globally.
I’m falsely convicted of murder with a life sentence no parole.

These are all examples of circumstances. As you probably know by now, circumstances are unpredictable.

However,

Jesus Christ is not unpredictable.
He is predictably faithful.
He has conquered the world, the flesh, the devil and your problems.
He rules and reigns in every situation, even when it appears He’s departed.
He goes before you, behind you and lives inside you.
He is with you in times of peace and harmony and in times of conflict and trouble.
He works all for your good, even the ugly.
He wants to teach us how to find contentment in our unpredictable circumstances.

“He is…He is enough…He is more than enough.”

He is the CON tent (2 Cor. 12:9).

Philippians 4:11
Not that I am implying that I was in any personal want, for I have learned how to be content (satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted) in whatever state I am.

1 Corinthians 1:30
But it is from Him that you have your life in Christ Jesus,

2 Corinthians 12:9
But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!

Colossians 3:3
For [as far as this world is concerned] you have died, and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God.

Mark 8:35
For whoever wants to save his [higher, spiritual, eternal] life, will lose it [the lower, natural, temporal life which is lived only on earth]; and whoever gives up his life [which is lived only on earth] for My sake and the Gospel’s will save it [his higher, spiritual life in the eternal kingdom of God].

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

