Speak the Truth

YOUTUBE

Most of us were raised to tell the truth. But…do we tell ourselves the truth?

For example, what do you automatically say to yourself when you lose your keys? Or miss a turn. Or forget your reading glasses.

“I’m such an idiot!” or “I’m so stupid.” or “What a fool!”

Reading glassesIf so, I’d like to challenge you. I would reply, “But that’s not true, (your name here). You’re not stupid. You are highly intelligent. You just forgot your glasses. Big deal. Here, use mine.”

When you make a mistake if you must say something, instead of beating yourself up just state what happened. Say, “I forgot my glasses.” Period. That’s the truth. There is no need to add on self-inflicting spins.

Could you live so above the thought of being human that you will not allow yourself to make a simple mistake without abusing yourself? Please don’t hold yourself above being human. It’s not good for you, your associates, family members or society in general.

Self-inflicting spins repeated over time harm you because that’s what lies do: harm. Imagine little darts coming at you from the world system all day long. Why would you want to add to that array of destructive weapons stabbing yourself a little whenever you get the chance?

If you belong to the Light and the Truth (John 14:6), you must speak the truth to yourself in order to to walk in the light of Christ and live in wholeness and health.

Remember the crime drama, Dragnet? That famous request by Joe Friday is helpful self-talk here: “The facts, Mam, please. Just the facts.”

Another example, what do you say to yourself when you wave to someone and they don’t wave back?

“What a jerk.” or “He just thinks I’m beneath him.” or “Oh, I didn’t know we weren’t speaking.”

Did you ever think that people have particular paradigms which have been shaped by their personal experiences? And that they might see you through one of those lenses? Lenses can be pretty distorted. Think twice. Don’t let someone’s potential distortion distort you. And don’t let your own unnecessary negative assumptions distort them.

Once I was out walking and at a distance waved to my friend who was standing in her front yard facing me. To my surprise she failed to wave back to me. Instantly I inferred that maybe she was upset with me. Later that week I found out that without her glasses she was legally blind. So, when she didn’t wave back it wasn’t that she had a bone to pick with me; she did not even see me waving because she had removed her glasses. And to think that I could have allowed my personal spin to interfere with our friendship.

Instead of making blind inferences, I could have concluded just the facts, “She didn’t wave back. I don’t know why.” And leave it at that.

“The facts, Mam. Just the facts.”

John 14:6
Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Ephesians 4:15
Rather, let our lives lovingly express truth [in all things, speaking truly, dealing truly, living truly]. Enfolded in love, let us grow up in every way and in all things into Him Who is the Head, [even] Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

