Limitless

Do we limit God? I think we do.

Years ago I had been attempting to “have a little talk” with my husband and explain to him that with the ongoing sad (in my estimation) state of our relationship that I was seriously struggling. I needed to share some personal things with him so that we could get all the cards on the table, clear the air and move forward or see a counselor or whatever.

Okay, this situation went on forever it seemed to me. All I encountered was his deafness or refusal to hear me or be willing to deal with the issues we needed to get past. I kept thinking that maybe it wasn’t the right time and that I should just try again at a better time.

Needless to say, after months of giving him the benefit of the doubt, I realized that the conversation wasn’t going to happen at all and I was losing it. So, gritting my teeth I prayed, “Lord, we have a mule on our hands, and you’ve got the two-by-four. Have at it. I’m done with this.”

Prayer forgotten.

A few months later, hubby and I were out on our date night together. We decided to check out the small Chinese restaurant that my late grandmother had always recommended. As we entered I immediately noticed sitting alone at a small corner table a dark middle eastern man. By dark I mean to say that he carried a very dark spirit; I didn’t know the details, but it was outstanding to me. Behind the hostess and my husband, I followed passing the stranger. We didn’t make eye contact, but he knew that I was very aware of him spiritually, and he of me.

Anyway, the hostess seated us in the same section of the restaurant but across the room from him.  We ordered our drinks, perused the menu and chatted while we waited to order. There was something about this man sitting across the room from us. I was distracted by his unusually dark presence and again took notice of him discreetly between conversations. The waitress returned with our drinks and we ordered our food. Everything went along normally until the middle of our entre. At that point in the evening we got a little surprise.

Across the room I could see the man in my peripheral vision. He finished his meal, wiped his mouth and sat seriously contemplative for a few moments. He then stood up and walked directly toward our table. Standing between us he spoke discreetly and very intensely, “Excuse me,” he said, making eye contact with both of us apologetically. “I am a psychic,” he continued, “I don’t want to interrupt your dinner, but Sir,” he faced my husband, “your woman here,” gesturing toward me, “she is in love with another man. You must know this.”

My husband, nearly choking on his food, quickly grabbed his napkin and put it to his mouth, coughing. Slowly regaining his composure, he made eye contact with the man acknowledging his message. The man nodded back adieu and exited the restaurant.

As for me, I sat trying with all my might to contain an avalanche of relief and laughter as I suddenly remembered my long-lost prayer. I took a very deep breath and held my tongue with a large steel trap as I allowed my husband to slowly digest the message.

Yes, I think we limit God.

With all our little formulas, rituals, mnemonics, acrostics, parental and double-minded projections we come up with to simplify and understand God attempting to squeeze Him into our human-sized boxes wrapped with our pretty paper and fancy bows, we tend to forget that God is limitless in many ways.

Do we believe that God can actually fit inside our little boxes?

Dare we untie our bows, tear off our paper and open our God boxes to let Him show us who He really is?

Would we put it past God to summon a psychic to deliver an overdue message to a mule?

How big is your God?

Matthew 19:26
But Jesus looked at them and said, With men this is impossible, but all things are possible with God.

Matthew 15:6
So for the sake of your tradition (the rules handed down by your forefathers), you have set aside the Word of God [depriving it of force and authority and making it of no effect].

Mark 12:24
Jesus said to them, Is not this where you wander out of the way and go wrong, because you know neither the Scriptures nor the power of God?

Psalm 103:19
The Lord has established His throne in the heavens, and His kingdom rules over all.

Matthew 14:31
Instantly Jesus reached out His hand and caught and held him, saying to him, O you of little faith, why did you doubt?

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

