Attachments

Healthy attachments are important for human development and prosperity. In fact, without them we cannot thrive. There are mental, emotional, physical and spiritual attachments. For instance, strong relational attachments, such as living with a consistent caregiver during infancy and responsive parents throughout childhood, help to ensure our emotional and social stability as we grow into adulthood. And living with wholesome attachments in adulthood enables us to lead healthy, balanced lives.

There are also unhealthy attachments. Unhealthy attachments can stunt our development, hinder our growth and steal our potential. Examples of an unhealthy attachment could be a troublesome habit or mindset, an all-consuming career, a toxic person or a junky diet.

For years while the children were young I entertained the undesirable habit of popping out of bed in the morning like a jack-in-the-box. In such attachment to a task-oriented mindset I would burst into the day with all of my plans laid out in front of me. Little did I know then that I was missing out on some essential moments. During those years I was trapped in the “I’ve got to make it happen” mindset when God had been patiently waiting for me to notice (and arranging circumstances to teach me) that He was the Almighty and had another agenda.

Once I learned my lessons in that area instead of jumping out of bed while half asleep, I just lay there in the stillness. In these twilight moments between deep sleep and consciousness I found another whole world of communication with God which now serves as a sounding board, red flag notice and complete buffet of ideas for me to carry into the day. Before then I thought I had been getting so much done, but it was just stuff, not His stuff (Luke 6:46 below).

Many attachments we rationalize and as a result they appear rather harmless to us. Our attachments may appear benign but if we imagine life without them, would we enjoy more freedom and more choices? Could we grow to higher stature emotionally, mentally or spiritually? Could those around us receive more of our time, love and attention? Think about it. Open yourself up to the possibilities.

Could you have wrapped yourself around something that is holding you back? Get honest feedback from others you trust. Then take a step forward in getting unwrapped. (See Living Waters, New Life Ministries or Twelve Step Programs on Resources page.)

Hebrews 12:1
THEREFORE THEN, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses [who have borne testimony to the Truth], let us strip off and throw aside every encumbrance (unnecessary weight) and that sin which so readily (deftly and cleverly) clings to and entangles us, and let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us,

James 5:16
Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart].

Galatians 6:2
Bear (endure, carry) one another’s burdens and troublesome moral faults, and in this way fulfill and observe perfectly the law of Christ (the Messiah) and complete what is lacking [in your obedience to it].

2 Peter 2:19
…for by whatever anyone is made inferior or worse or is overcome, to that [person or thing] he is enslaved.

Luke 6:46
“Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?”

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

