Meditation

Focused, intentional meditation is very useful in the process of personalization and internalization of truth. Knowing facts about God is good, but that is merely head knowledge. Not worth much until it reaches your heart.

For example, you know in your head all about a celebrity: birthday, birthplace, favorite foods, honors received, etc. However, you have never actually met him in person. Until you actually meet him and get to know him in person and as a friend, you lack personal heart knowledge of him. Likewise, until you personalize, receive, and internalize God’s truth deep into your heart, it remains head knowledge and blocks fruit from manifesting in your life since fruit grows solely from the heart.

If you want to get the full effect from truth you must meditate on it. Truth is not just thought. Thoughts come and go. Meditation is intentional thought of the mind and heart where truth is absorbed, digested and assimilated, just like food.

Personalizing God’s truth makes it true for you: “For God so loved (your name here) that He gave His only begotten Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have everlasting life (John 3:16). You repeatedly read and recite the verse with your name applied and believe it.

Receiving truth makes it real for you:”For God so loved (your name here) that He gave His only begotten Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have everlasting life (John 3:16). You repeatedly read and recite the verse with your name and receive it inside of you.

Internalizing God’s truth makes it life for you:”For God so loved (your name here) that He gave His only begotten Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have everlasting life (John 3:16). You read and recite the verse with your name and feed on it in your heart.

With an open and vulnerable heart, you can apply this form of meditation with verses, music or whatever God uses to minister truth to you.

For example, for years I craved a deep, experiential heart knowledge of the closeness God had granted me through Christ. Finally, I got to the point in my search that I told Him I would do whatever it took, literally anything, to make it happen; just tell me what to do. I soon attended a concert by Twila Paris at a local church where I purchased one of her CDs and listen to it. Unexpectedly, her song, Bonded Together, slammed me up against the wall.

English: Beginning of psalm motet De profundis...

I wasn’t expecting it and can’t explain it but to say that hearing that song was serious and mysterious medicine to my soul. For months I became obsessed with it and the word amalgamation in the song. During those months of meditation on that song and its lyrics, something shifted to allow the missing piece of that closeness to drop from head knowledge down into my heart and take root inside of me. God did this. If He did it for me, He’ll do it for you.

So, following the Spirit take your greatest need and apply an applicable verse or song to it to allow God to minister to you in meditation. Whatever feels right is right. No rules. This is Holy Spirit work.

What is your relevant need? What is the next step you need to take in meeting that need? Use your own songs, Scripture memory songs, the ones listed below or anything else creative to meditate on regarding aspects of God that you long to receive and internalize. Simply apply it in context of your need.

Besides Scripture, prayer and small group healing, here are some random examples of songs that God has used to minister to me:

Bonded Together by Twila Paris (1 Corinthians 6:17)
I’m in You by Peter Frampton (John 15:4)
Can’t Get Enough by Barry White (Psalm 107:9)
You’re My Best Friend by Queen (Proverbs 18:24b)
How Sweet It Is by James Taylor (Psalm 119:103)
Because You Loved Me by Celine Dion (John 15:9)
This is How It Feels to be Free Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir (Galatians 5:1)
Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon & Garfunkel (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)
Unchained Melody by The Righteous Brothers (Psalm 69:3)
Don’t Know Much by Ronstadt & Neville (Mark 12:33)
Desperado by the Eagles (James 5:16)
Don’t Leave Me This Way by Thelma Houston (Psalm 63:1-3, 139:23; Philippians 1:6)
My Everything by Barry White (Rev. 1:8; Psalm 63:3, 84)
You’ve Lost that Lovin’ Feeling by The Righteous Brothers (Revelation 2:4)

Psalm 104:34
May my meditation be sweet to Him; as for me, I will rejoice in the Lord.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

About ashleydwille

Author Ashley D. Wille was always searching for spiritual answers. “True and lasting satisfaction always proved just out of reach. Now, in midlife, I have come to find my soul satiated in God. Through sweet surprises, difficult climbs, and excruciating valleys, the Master’s hand has shaped me. All along the way, God has taught me many things. What He has taught me most is that many of my beliefs about Him were wrong.” Her book, My Journey Through the Cross, is a personal insight shared by an amazing woman. Through her profound experiences and inner struggles, Wille shows how she was able to break through false layers of thinking and move into a deeper relationship with God. Her beautiful journey is just waiting to be shared. If you are ready to live your life free of guilt and shame, you too can learn how to walk in spiritual freedom.
This entry was posted in Essays/Teachings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

